Road tripping to Salvation Mountain and jumping for joy with Michael Carroll Green

Michael Carroll Green photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

This was an epic road trip day from palm Springs to Salvation Mountain and back (I posted a few pics from the trip on @eyoalha). I’d only had the experience of knowing Michael in his professional setting as Executive Director of the Palm Springs Cultural Center, so it was super fun to spend the day getting to know him while exploring, playing and jumping for joy. There were many precious moments sharing life stories, meeting a variety of lovely people and appreciating the surroundings throughout the day… and his jump is amazing! So fun! Yay! 🙂

Get to know a little more about Michael:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
I think the whole idea of jumping for joy, and having permission to do it, is completely uplifting. As adults, we rarely give ourselves permission to express joy so openly.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
It was an amazing and completely magical experience.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
I feel joy every morning when I wake up. I’m one of those people who generally starts the day feeling joyous. I just never usually let it out in a public way. I think, like most adults, that I sort of suppress it in my daily life. Joy is simple and it’s childlike.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
I am passionate about writing – poetry in particular. It lifts my spirit and allows me to transcend the day to day. It also allows me to process emotions, whether good or bad.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
I just think it’s amazing. I think we start with a lot of joy as children, but as we grow up, that joy gets set aside, put away, or hidden from view. Being able to recapture it is very freeing.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Anything? I really struggle with that because I have so many things I’d like to do. It’s really hard for me to pinpoint one thing. It’s sort of like color to me. I love bright colors. I love them all. Having to pick one at the expense of all the others would lessen my joy at being able to experience them all. So my answer, I guess, would be that I could do ALL the things I want to do!

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I am always writing, so that’s sort of a given with me.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I am sort of a complicated person. And I have trouble writing short sentences. That has served me well as a writer over the years so I no longer feel the need to apologize for it. Some people have to work to get up to the word count they require. For me, it’s always the opposite. I have to write, then edit back, then write, then edit back again. It’s actually a fascinating process… but again, what does it say about me…complicated.

Connect on social with Michael:
Twitter: @MichaelCGreen
Instagram: @michaelcgreen
FB page: /michaelcarrollgreen
Other links: www.michaelcarrollgreen.com

Thank you for a memorable road trip and for sharing your jumping joy Michael!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject