Family fun and jumping joy with Kathy Jo Hoy

Kathy Jo Hoy photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project

Kathy contacted me just as I was finishing my Artist in Residence with the Palm Springs Cultural Center and shared a touching story about her son’s perseverance through bullying as fuel to reach his musical success, Garrett Hoy

Get to know a little about Kathy:

Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Good health, accomplishments, excitement, pride, surprises, watching a horse race and winning a few bucks on a horse race yet feeling like I won a million! Watching one ask another to spend the rest of their lives with them and the answer is yes!!!

Great music anytime, anywhere it makes me dance & jump for joy!!! Beyoncé at Coachella made me jump for joy & so does “The safari tent!” Another joyful experience was “Desert Trip” it was an entire two weekends of jumping for joy. Desert trip (weekend 1) I spent it with my son, (weekend 2) I spent it with my sisters & a childhood friend!!!

BUT MOST OF MY JOY COMES FROM MY CHILDREN, my heart jumps for joy everyday I see & hear my children sing & dance!!!

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
Before I was excited that Eyoälha had said yes to meeting us. After we finished the photos we were all pretty tired & hot yet all of us were happy. I was especially happy that our family had spent the day together jumping for joy!!! It was something new for us & it was done at La Quinta Resort where my husband and I had our wedding reception in 1991.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy is when your heart sings. Joy is love and love is healing.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life? Why?
A:
The gifts god has blessed me with, my children, my husband, my family, my pets & managing my health.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
I feel proud to be part of a project that will spread joy. I myself realized as I was looking at Eyoälha’s photos I had a large smile on my face, I realized I was smiling in the inside along with the outside.

Q: You can do anything in the world, what do you wish to do?
A:
Cure cancer & find a way to fix brain and spinal chord damage so that everyone in the world could dance & jump for joy.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I’m a stay at home mother. I volunteer doing social media for MTU an after school musical theatre conservatory my children are part of. I enjoy taking & posting photos that make the students & their parents feel proud about. I try to capture moments that are meaningful.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
Who am I? I am a best friend, a daughter, a sister, a tia/aunt, a wife, a mother of two and a mother of 4 dogs. I married my best friend in 1991. I have had many health issues but I do my best to pick myself up off the floor and continue on. There are times it is my other half that picks me up and carries me. He also carries and lifts his children upon his shoulders when they are in need and there has been times he has lifted and carried all of us on his shoulders at once. There has been times I have done the same for him. Together we created two very special loving, smart and talented children. We have raised them to love, to be empathetic, to be inclusive of all! To not label nor place themselves and others in a box. That they are not defined alone by our families race, religion or by sexual orientation but by their heart, their empathy for others, their hard work and their dependability.

Thank you Kathy for reaching out and wanting to share joy with your beautiful family!

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)