Giggles galore and jumps of joy with Kevin Hays

Kevin Hays photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project

Sometimes I meet people who instantly become friends, Kevin was one of those people. It’s impossible not to love him. He is kind, thoughtful, super fun and he makes a mean espresso. I met him in Boston while I was contributing to an event called Explora Labs created my dear friend and creative genius, Mary-Anne Richman (who I also LOVE!).

For Kevins jump, we went up some tight stair to the roof of their home. In this photo we lose the actual perspective of how high up we actually were, so Kevin got some serious hight here… but more importantly, we laughed – a lot and had a lot fun!

Read on to learn more about Kevin and what makes him feel joyful:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
My wife, Mary Anne Richman. Brilliant. Creative. Restless. Crazy funny. Sometimes just crazy. It’s pretty inspiring to be around an artist.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
It was a lot of fun to do it, but the best part was how crazy you were during the process. You just chucked herself on the deck with amazing energy and pointed your lense up. That’s pretty infectious. Lots of laughs! (example)

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
For me, joy is a two-way street. It’s give & take from the people I come into contact with. If someone around me is having a bad day, I try to think of a way to lighten them up. If I’m with people who are joyful, they push me through the roof.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
Many things: Food. Mary Anne’s brain. Creating something from nothing – whether it’s in programming or cooking. Riding my bike. Food. Scoffing food. Did I mention food?

Q: How do you cultivate joy in your life?
A:
Surrounding myself with great people. I am drawn to people who are intelligent, who promote good will, and who have a sense of humor.

Q: In what way are you trying to make the world a better place?
A:
I am pretty proud of the work I am doing for the NFPA, where I program interactive, 3D educational content for firemen and first responders. I know that this work can somehow help save a life if a first responder is able to put any of that content into action in real life situations.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
My NFPA work has allowed me to grow as a programmer/developer in 3D and VR.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
After 30 years of programming many types of media content, video, interactive, online, 3D, etc, it’s important to keep pushing yourself into new skills. Stay current and never stop learning.

Connect with Kevin:
Instagram: @pawleyboboli
Other links: http://marsinc.com/

Thanks so much for being you and for sharing your joy Kevin!

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)