Garrett Hoy pursuing his dreams and sharing jumping joy

Garrett Hoy photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project

I had just completed a 4 month artist residency with the Palm Springs Cultural Center when I received a beautiful email from Garrett’s mom Kathy, explaining why she was inspired to have her family jump for joy.

Kathy explained that Garrett had been bullied for years because he sings, does Theatre arts and because he is gay. When he was in 8th grade he started MTU (Musical Theatre university) and is now one of two students to complete 5 years of this conservatory and just won The Lucy Arnaz Awards. He is also going to NYC for The Jimmy Awards, then off To PACE university to start their BFA program!

Her email moved me and I agreed to meet up with them to do jumping photos, even though I was running on empty after completing my residency and Palm Springs Jump for Joy mural.

I am always inspired by stories of perseverance through adversity, especially when the persons determination is to stay true to who they are and the passions that light them up. Garrett is a courageous and talented soul and it was a pleasure to share joy with him and his family.

Get to know a little more about Garrett:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
My passion for art, and my future. I jump because my dreams are coming true, and I’m going to be living in the best city in the world.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I felt great! Both during and after, it was awesome finding the spot to jump in, and seeing how the photos looked afterwards.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy impacts me every time I perform, it’s when I perform that I am the happiest and the most content, and joy is the reason I continue to pursue art.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
Theatre, I find it so inspiring that the concept that one piece of art can change and affect each person in the room in a way personal to themselves.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
I love the fact that I get to participate in some way, joy should be shared with others.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Well, it would be what I’m pursuing, theatre and art.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I’m will participate in the National High School Theatre awards later this month.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
My name is Garrett Hoy, I’m a performer and I will be attending Pace University (my dream school) for Musical Theatre, I’m achieving my dreams of being on broadway later this month, and I am extremely excited to start school!

Connect with Garrett:
Twitter: @theExtraHoy
Instagram: @ghoy11
FB page: Garrett Hoy
Snap: ghoy11

Thank you Garrett, for being yourself, pursuing your passions and for being you!

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)