A red tutu adventurous jump of joy with Mike Thompson

Mike Thompson photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

As soon as we met Mike and he said he had a red tutu to wear, the playful fun just continued to escalate throughout the jumping photo session. We skipped and laughed and jumped for joy and it felt like reconnecting with a long time friend. We did some artistic shadow jumps in the stairwell (my friend Thomas captured some fun behind the scenes photos) then moved on down to the front of the building where Mike works, The LGBT Community Center of the Desert. I love Mikes joyful expression and the bright colours in this photo – pure joy!

Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Authentic connection. For me, there’s nothing more joyous than connection, whether it be in laughter, great conversation or sweet silence. In those moments, my heart is happiest.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I was in the middle of a busy workday when the time to jump came. As soon as I began to jump, and to laugh, and to express myself, WOW, such a fun and energizing shift in my energy.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Effervescence, like tiny, fizzy little bubbles of happy.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
My greatest passion is connecting to my most authentic expression in each moment, inspiring others to do the same… and then connecting with each other as a result.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
OMG, what a privilege to be an official Spreader of Joy!

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Exactly what I’m doing… well, maybe stroll the beach more often but love exactly where I am doing exactly what I’m doing.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
Creating Vibrant Community! Expanding the work of The LGBT Community Center of the Desert to connect LGBTQ people to resources and community.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
Doggy Dad. Mama’s Boy. Good Friend. Passionate Fella who aspires to inspire.

Connect with Mike:
Twitter: @ThompsonMikeV
Instagram: @OkieFella
FB page: MVThompson


Thank you Mike for sharing your infectiously playful energy, and for jumping for joy with us!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)