Celebrating life and jumping for joy Claudia Yanez-Fetis

Claudia Yanez-Fetis photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

Claudia was one of several vivaciously confident and creative Wyld Womxn who came out to jump for joy on what just so happens to be Claudia’s Birthday! So she had even more reason to jump and celebrate being alive. We met up at the Rancho Mirage Library which gave us lots of interesting locations to jump around. If I remember correctly, this was the photo that I climbed into long grass to take, well worth it, I love how free and open Claudia looks here!

Get to know a little about Claudia:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
I feel inspired by the joy of being alive and the ability to love.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I had an excellent experience. I was so excited to jump with my fellow Wyld Womxn. I jumped for joy the morning of my birthday and I couldn’t be happier to be able to jump and embody the celebration of life that I was feeling. I felt great jumping! afterwards I had a feeling of excitement and felt filled with breath and laughter. I felt light and free, happy as could be.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy feels lighthearted and a sublime. I feel a lightness as well as a heaviness and solidity present. Jumping for joy made my body and mind feel whole. I felt empowered and grateful. It was not just a feeling, it had an action and the practice associated with it “jumping” is a mental exercise as much as it is physical

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
My greatest passion in life is learning. I have a natural curiosity and thirst for knowledge and experience. I am passionate about always growing my understanding of the world and people around me. I’m also passionate to learn all I can about myself and my possibilities.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
I love being a part of this project .

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
MORE!

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I am working on painting and mixed media pieces, and always myself.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
Claudia was born in Chile and moved to the desert as a child 22 years ago. She is a visual artist with a unique appreciation for the diverse and unique qualities of the natural world. She has an insect collection and loves to identity and study nature. She is an avid hiker/adventurer/explorer/ and creator that loves getting her hands dirty with soil and paint. She has been an artist all her life.

Thank you Cloudia for sharing your vibrant joy with us!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)