Sharing joy to heal our hearts, a redo jump for joy with Liliana Diaz at Palm Springs High School

Liliana Diaz photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

The first time I went to Palm Springs High School to do jumping photos, 18 students came out to jump with me. 17 girls + 1 boy, this number was not planned but beautifully commemorates #StonemanDouglas.

Liliana was the very first in line to do her jump photos and they were amazing jumps! When I got home I realised in all my excitement about how amazing her jumps were, I failed to notice that in every photo I captured, her entire face was covered by her stunning long hair. I asked if she would mind a re-do so we could see here face and she, and her teacher Mr. Brown kindly agreed. Thank goodness! She has a powerful presence and I LOVE her new set of jumping photos. 🙂

The re-do photo day also happened to be the tragic anniversary of Columbine. So I asked the class if I could also have 13 students come out to do a group jump of joy because:

Joy is a powerful emotion for healing, bringing people together and uplifting ourselves and others. ✨

I had the honour to do group jump for joy photos with 12 students and their teacher Mr. Brown​.

13 people, jumping up to the sky, sharing joy in memory of #Columbine. ✨

We all want to live in a safe, loving and joy filled environment, especially for our youth who are the future. Thank you to Mr. Brown and the students of #PalmSpringsHighSchool for sharing your joy. ✨

Get to know a little about Liliana:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Seeing others happy or succeeding

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
Before I felt pretty neutral and after I was so happy.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy to me feels like like my heart is growing 10 sizes bigger and I can’t stop smiling. Times of joy impact my life because when I have them everything feels okay, and I bond with people I share those moments with.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
My greatest passion in life is caring for people or learning about people because I have learned that everyone has a different story that is just as important as the person standing right next to them.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
So happy! All of the people coming together in unity although we have different backgrounds is so important.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Open a homeless shelter or orphanage that provides shelter, meals, opportunity for education, mental health support, with connections to the community to keep them involved.

Thank you Liliana for sharing your amazing energy and for letting me re-do your jump of joy photo 🙂

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

2 Comments

Please... share the joy :)