Playing in the neighbourhood gardens and jumping for joy with Charlotte Duplay

Charlotte Duplay photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

Such a fun day all around. We met up with a group of Girl Scouts, moms and Girl Guide Leaders for jumping photos. Once we had done all the young girls jumps, it was time for the adults to play. Charlotte found this spot and the jumping began, and the hat was a perfect touch.

Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Lots of things make me happy but right now, I am most excited about spring, which has just begun in Palm Springs. In town the smell of citrus blossoms is intoxicating and the Palo Verde trees are erupting with yellow flowers. Out on the trails the wildflowers are beginning to bloom. The weather is perfectly warm. It’s magical.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
Silly – in a good way! We were out in the community garden with our Girl Scouts, which always make me happy. I did a jump with my co-leaders and felt a wonderful sense of camaraderie. Doing my solo jump I felt carefree.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Belly laughing. It’s good for the soul.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
I love immersing myself in great art. Some people are so creative and it gives me a glimpse into their creative mind. I am not particularly creative so I would never come up with ideas like that myself. My other passions are traveling, and having dinner parties with friends at home or around the campfire. I have also begun to enjoy organizing children’s birthday parties. Thinking of goofy games to play is so much fun. And there is nothing like a group of exuberant, giggling little girls.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
Inspired. It reminds me that joy is contagious and we should spread it wherever we go.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Amend the second amendment.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I am an art appraiser so I am constantly working on projects that involve art, but not art projects per say. Most of my vaguely creative projects are craft projects. I have a 9 year-old daughter and these days most of my craft projects involve dolls or horses. It’s easy to get carried away with Pinterest!

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I grew up in Melbourne, Australia but now live with my little family in Palm Springs. It’s a wonderful life.

Thanks Charlotte, for jumping and sharing your joy with us!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)