One from the team! Jumping for joy with Joe Leon assistant extraordinaire

Joe Leon photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

One from the team! Joe (and his husband Thomas) have been generously volunteering since I began my Artist Residency with the Palm Springs Cultural Center and comes with me on most of my jumping photo sessions (along with his fabulous husband Thomas). Joe is always one step ahead of me, making sure I haven’t forgotten anything and is the best navigator ever.

Joe and I did this photo during a jump for joy photo session road trip to Desert Oasis. We had a little time to explore around before our session bagan so, I did a few selfie jumps and Joe did this spectacular jump of joy.

I feel so blessed to have such wonderful people supporting and helping share joy with the world. I can’t imagine how I did this project all those years without them.

Get to know a little more about Joe:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
My family inspires me to jump for joy! My husband also inspires me a lot. We’ve been together for 14 years. Married for 9 years. Which means a lot to me.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I actually jumped twice. At first I was a little hesitant but Eyoälha made me feel comfortable after a while. Both times I felt excited and full of energy!!! It felt great to jump for such a great project.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy can be described in many ways. Energy, laughter, happiness, just to name a few. Joy has impacted my life with such a positive way. I have joy being married to the most wonderful man. My two doggies bring me joy. Having good health also brings me great joy. Having loving parents brings me joy.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
My greatest passion in life is to help others in times of need. Placing others before my own needs.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a collaborative community project that promotes joy?
A:
I think it’s a great idea. Working with Eyoälha has been a pleasure. To see the different people from all walks of life jumping for joy. I feel like part of the Palm Springs Cultural Center.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
I’d be a psychologist. I have mental health issues and I would help others in dealing with their own problems.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I’m from Phoenix Az. I moved here to California about 14 years ago. Have only been in Palm Springs for 9 years. I really love living in Palm Springs. We’ve met a lot of good friends and people that are kind and compassionate. My husband Thomas is very special to me. We have a good place here.

Connect with Joe:
Twitter: @jleon293

Thanks for always being such a great help and for sharing your jumping joy Joe!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

2 Comments

Please... share the joy :)