Jumping for joy in the name of love with Charles Huff

Charles Huff photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

The first time I met Charles was a chance encounter while we were both guests on the Joey English Show. Joey mentioned him while we were on air as he was the next guest, he also happened to be my next jump for joy session lined up for the following day.

The next day we met up for the jumping photo session at a special location, Charles chose to do his jump for joy photo in front of the home where he and his partner of 32 years had lived. I was deeply touched by this sentiment, that his partner would be acknowledged and included in the joy of the powerful moment we captured of Charles jumping up.

Get to know Charles a little:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Life! The wonderful people around me in Palm Springs and all over the country who have lifted me up in my darkest times and now I am on the other side… with JOY!

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
Fabulous, connecting with the artist and her vision gave me inspiration. Hesitant at first, left feeling inspired. I didn’t think I would bring much to the project and I was surprised to find out the power in which I jumped and showed my fierceness.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy comes from Love – When other human beings give of themselves with empathy and understanding joy flows.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
Singing, gives me joy!

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
Fortunate, how many people can say I worked with the Jump for Joy Photo Project and we JUMPED!

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
TRAVEL, TRAVEL sing then TRAVEL.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
A 20 minute music set for a conference dinner where I am the entertainment.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I am a multi faceted person, always looking to help and/or assist. I have been involved in non-profits since 1985 as a volunteer, board member and fund raising and it continues today as I am employed by a non-profit. I have 20 years experience in banking operations, 10 years in City Government (San Francisco) and I have been singing off and on in life since childhood; church choirs, civic occasions, Ebony Fashion Fair Philadelphia, PA dinner Theater, Amusement Park work, solo and hopefully the cabaret scene in Palm Springs. I was partnered for 32 years,(until death did we part) so I am a committed person and have fulfilled my promise to keep living and to live with joy!

Twitter: @chaz92262
Instagram: @chaz92262
FB page: /charles.huff.50


Thank you Charles, for sharing your powerful presence and joy with us!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)