Dr. Victor Pineda jumping for joy with a little help from our friends

Victor Pineda (with support from Yarrow Kraner, Steve Connell and Elke Govertsen) for Jump for Joy Photo Project and HATCH Reunion San Francisco 2018

I’ve taken many photos of people for this project with people who are not physically able to jump for joy, but the energy and intention to share joy still shines through. Usually I get people to make an upward motion with their hands and face to capture the upward energy of jumping, but Victor who moves around in a wheelchair and likes to break any boundaries that cross his path, wanted to feel the sensation of being suspended in the air. So, some of our friends stepped in to make that happen. Yarrow Kraner, Steve Connell and Elke Govertsen from the HATCH Network, not only lifted Victor up so high that I couldn’t get his face in the photo, they lifted themselves up too.

Get to know a little about Victor:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Love, health, prosperity. Creative people that push me farther, that help carry me away and that challenge me to be be the highest version of myself.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I felt liberated, supported, and inspired.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy? How has joy impacted your life?
A:
Joy is an elevated state of being, where fullness overflows. It’s happiness elevated.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life? Why?
A:
I am passionate about human potential. I stopped walking when I was five years old, and due to a muscle disease and outdated and limiting beliefs by others, I was denied a chance to go to school. My parents fought to get me an education, and now I work to ensure others have the same opportunities to grow and become leaders in their communities.

Q: How do you cultivate joy in your life?
A:
I cultivate joy by engaging in creative ventures such as storytelling, teaching, photography, and working with partners to promote shift the work of large systems including governments towards social justice and inclusion.

Q: In what way are you trying to make the world a better place?
A:
I work with governments and cities around the world to promote a world without barriers. I am a leader in disability rights, innovation and inclusive urban development.

Q: What are you creating?
A: I am working on this cool feature documentary film called 12 Bends, www.unboundfilm.org.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
Dr. Victor Santiago Pineda is a filmmaker, social entrepreneur, and scholar. He is the President of World Enabled and President of the Global Alliance on Accessible Technologies and Environments (GAATES), and serves on the US Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board. He is an impassioned public speaker and recognized leader in international disability rights.

Twitter: @victorpineda
Instagram: @worldenabled
FB page: /dr.vsp
Other links: www.worldenabled.org

Thank you for sharing your joy Victor!

—-

Photo taken during HATCH San Francisco reunion.

—-

Help share the JOY! Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)