A vibrant jump of joy with Timothy McIntosh

Timothy McIntosh photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

I got an email from Timothy saying he’d like to take part in the project on the night before the last day I had planned on doing jumping photos. I’m now moving on the the next phase of the project selecting, editing and resizing photos to print into posters for the mural which will be located on the back of the Palm Springs Cultural Center.

So, we planned to meet up the next day while he was working to do the jumps and he brought along his friend Kelsey along as well to join in on the fun. They were so warm and friendly that it felt like we already knew each other straight off. I saw this beautiful yellow tree as I pulled into the parking lot and thought it would be a beautiful place to do the photos, so Timothy and Kelsey came out and jumped around in the yellow petals with me. It only took a couple of snaps to capture this fun joyful jump.

Get to know Timothy / Marina Mac:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Art. In all forms. It’s what keeps the soul alive and refreshed.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
Such a fun experience. I was excited to be a part of if someone’s vision of me. After the photos were taken, I felt, as said before, alive and refreshed.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy is felt differently with everyone. For me, it’s a transcendental feeling. My goal is to prolong it longer each time. Finding joy let’s me know I’m on the right path and I must continue en route.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
I love to perform on stage. There is no feeling such as it. The happiness from the audience lets me know, I’ve spread my joy to them.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
Incredible. Being connected to a community is great and when we come together to promote positivity is prodigious.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Encourage unity and respect for one another

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
Performing as a Drag Personality is always a work and project in progress. I’m consistently trying to one up myself and stay unpredictable to others.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
The Name Marina Mac comes from the fact that Timothy was in the Marines, and Mac is a shortened version of McIntosh. What was supposed to be a one-time thing, perhaps a small hobby, has turned into a seven and a half year career. Currently in 2018 Timothy/ Marina’s schedule is consistently full with his day job as Education Manager for Sephora, Full-time Drag Performer, and Professional Makeup Artist. Timothy has performed as Marina Mac all over Coachella Valley as well as San Gabriel Valley, Orange County and San Diego.

Marina Mac was voted Top Three Drag Personality for Ultimate Pride Guide Coachella Valley 2016-2018, Best Dancer and Lip Syncher for Queen of the Desert 2014, Awarded Ultimate Drag Star 2016 and Champions Of Youth award 2017 from “Safe Schools Desert Cities”.

Connect with Timothy:
Twitter: @MarinaMacPS
Instagram: @redmac27
Facebook: /timothymcintosh
Facebook: /missfabmarina

Thank you Timothy for taking a few minutes to share your uplifting jump of joy with me!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)