From observer to participant, jumping for joy with Bill Marchese

Bill Marchese Photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs cultural Center Artist Residency

Bill had come out to observe one of my Jump for Joy Photo sessions for an article he was doing about the project that was published in the Desert Sun. This photo session happened to be with the lovely, creative group that calls themselves the Wyld Womxn so there was a lot going on. We did group jumps and individual jumps with each person in various locations around the library. Of course I invited him to jump as well, and captured this great photo of him jumping for joy at the end of the session. Bill is a curious and adventurous person which comes across loud and clear in his jump photo.

Get to know a little about Bill:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Accomplishing the things on my bucket list, like doing the Tour de Palm Springs bicycle ride for the first time this year. I felt joy in completing that. Another will be finishing a book.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I watched people jump as the photographer took a position with her camera only inches from the ground. The expressions on the jumpers faces changed to smiles instantly as she clicked away.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
I have learned that doing the things that bring joy / gratitude / happiness / satisfaction into your life is a choice, a conscious choice.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
I enjoy every day and choose to be with the people I love and to spend my time as best I can.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
It feels like a wise choice, a good use of one’s time.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
I have been doing it, traveling to places around the world.

Q: What work/art/projects are you working on or creating?
A:
I am a writer and photographer, always working on creative projects.

Thanks Bill for jumping in and sharing some joy with us!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)