Firefighter jump for joy with Andrew Cotter

Andrew Cotter photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

We were so excited that the Palm Springs Fire Department agreed to participate in the project. The Fire Department is such an important part of the community, so when they agreed to take part and Andrew volunteered to jump for joy, I did too!

Everyone was so helpful and friendly. They even let us go to the back of the Fire Station where the trucks are parked to do the photos.

During the photo session I discovered that Andrew had recently gotten married, so he had a special reason to celebrate and jump for joy.

Get to know Andrew a little:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
My kids inspire me to jump for joy.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
It was very fun and I felt unconditional joy.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
The feeling of joy to me is having no worries about bad things happening. Joy is what strives me to keep working and helping people.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
I am very passionate about being a good fireman and making sure that I am the best man that I can be.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
It is awesome and I wish there was more people that are enthusiastic about projects that promote joy.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Exactly what I am doing right now. Fireman.

Thanks Andrew, for putting on your heavy gear and jumping in 30C / 86F degree heat to share joy with us and for all the important work you do helping the community!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)