Abandoned treasure hunting and jumping for joy with Read Brown

Read Brown photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

We met up with Read and her wife Kasey near an abandoned house in the desert. I loved her adventurous spirit right away as we scouted out where we wanted to do the photos. We hopped over a (sort of) sagging fence to this broken down house and wandered around doing jumps amongst the random bits of trash strewn around the yard. I like the uplifting energy we captured in this jump and the contrast of her clean white clothes against the gilopitated house.

Get to know a little about Read:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Adventures. Love. Learning new things.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
One of my friends shared that he participated in this project and immediately I said I wanted to do it! I was nervous at first, I can’t jump very high (I practiced), but right away I felt relaxed. Afterwards I was just happy!

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
It’s a little electric. A visceral feeling. I search it out.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
My marriage. I have been married for a little over a year now. And I have found the kindest, most adventurous, wonderful wife to share my life with. She brings me joy.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a collaborative community project that promotes joy?
A:
It is simply fantastic. Eyoalha is the perfect artist to do this project. I love that it is so important to her to include all walks of life in our community.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Travel Travel Travel. I am curious about people of the world. Not touristy stuff. But deep in the heart of the people. Also, I would love to go to work at an elephant sanctuary. And yes!!! Totally working on it!

Q: What are you working on?
A:
I own a Hair Salon and I am also a Hairstylist. That keeps me really busy. I am always looking for inspiration in other arts. I just took up Ceramics. I love it. I would say it brings me joy. And it in a way, it’s similar to cutting hair as in working with negative space, yet it is all new learning curves.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I have been a stylist for 22 years and salon owner in the trendy Palm Springs Uptown District for 15. My past consists of working in Intercoiffure salons as a Creative Director, writing a column for both regional and national style magazines, traveling countrywide with the hair product line, abba, teaching new trends and styling. To stay current and creative – on the cutting edge – I look to all the arts for inspiration: photography, ceramics, fashion, music and architecture, as well as the icons of the hair industry. To me, creating a haircut is one of the most personal of all the arts, because it projects an image, generates a first impression, suggests a lifestyle. I know the rules and I delight in breaking them.

Connect with Read:
Twitter: @ReadBrownHairSalon
Instagram: @readbrown
FB page: Read Brown and Read Brown Hair Salon
Other links: www.ReadBrownHairSalon.com

Thanks Read for sharing your adventurous spirit and a fence at random abandoned space with us to share your joy!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: eyoalha @ gmail . com

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

3 Comments

Please... share the joy :)