Jumping for joy in downtown Palm Springs with Vic Yepello

Vic Yepello photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

We met Vic in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs, sporting this colourful new shirt he bought just for the jump. We chose this location to incorporate the modern linear architecture of the Rowan Hotel. Vic had great energy and was ready to go as soon as we met up, and you can feel his friendly vibe shine through in the photo (FYI this one is not the highest of his jumps, but I like that we see his face in this one).

Get to know a little about Vic:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Seeing people in this community enjoying what we have built and continue to build. Also, I smile when I see the amount that citizens here giving back each and every day.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
Apprehensive of the process at first, then total elation when I saw how high it appeared that I jumped. I felt really good about the project and thought it to be a positive work for everyone involved and will be an uplifting experience to all who see it when unveiled.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy? How has joy impacted your life?
A:
Joy is a happy heart free of cares and worry and a positive view of the world around me. It’s not always attainable but it sure is something we should try to achieve every day.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
Helping Palm Springs develop a cycling infrastructure. I’ve been working with the city for over 4 years on the new citywide bike lanes and the feeling of accomplishment there as I ride around town is amazing. Oh, and riding my bike is another great passion.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a collaborative community project that promotes joy?
A:
It brings ME great joy. Any time we work together to lift one another up we help the entire community. So many influences can bring us despair so we need more positive influences all around us.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
I would end hunger and homelessness. Currently I work with my food group to raise money for FIND Food Bank by putting on 2 fundraisers every year for the past 4 years. We’ve raised enough money for well over 100,000 meals and we see no end to that in sight.

Q: What are you working on?
A:
Currently continuing work on the citywide bike lane project and now trying to find more old bikes that can be fixed and repaired then distributed to homeless individuals as a means to get around town.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I LOVE Palm Springs. I’ve called this city home for 13 years now and is the longest I’ve lived in any single city during my adult life. This community is a great example of people coming here to live and then being to start working together to make it the best place possible. Couple the community with the great weather and outdoor life and you can see why I say: Palm Springs I Love YOU!

Connect with Vic online:
Twitter: @psvic
Instagram: @vic_yepello
FB page: Vic Yepello

Thanks for taking time out to share you jumping joy with us Vic!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)