Jumping joy with Karen Fialkov in her tropical garden yard… in the desert!

Karen Fialkov photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Artist Residency

I met the lovely and colourful Karen at her home so we could do her jumping photos in her gorgeous garden, understandably her happy place. Hard to imagine this lush green yard is in the middle of a desert!

Get to know Karen a little:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
I really love life and what better way to show it but through movement.

Q: What was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I loved doing the jumping photos especially because we did them outdoors. I was excited to participate and felt exhilarated afterwards.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy is a warm feeling which emanates from the inside out. Joy impacts my life by doing all the things I really love.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
I love making people laugh and smile and feel good about themselves. I love dancing and exercising and taking long walks. Yoga is a great passion whether I am taking a class or teaching one as a yoga teacher. I love to travel and when I am not, I love living in Palm Springs.

Q: How do you feel about being a part of a collaborative Community project that promotes joy?
A:
I feel joyful and full of glee!

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A: Protecting and preserving our world is of utmost importance. We must protect against global warming and preserving our planet. I do this on a personal level and wish to get involved in educating people for future generations.

Q: What are you working on?
A: I am currently mostly retired and taking time to work on personal goals of self-improvement.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A: I grew up in Southern California where I completed a Masters degree in psychology. I moved to Marblehead, Massachusetts where I worked as a child therapist, School adjustment counselor and a brain injury therapist. I have two children and moved to Palm Springs in 2009. I will be married 37 years in June. I became a certified yoga teacher 2015. I love sharing my practice with others.

Thanks for sharing your vibrant joy with the world Karen!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

4 Comments

Please... share the joy :)