Playing in the backyard and jumping for joy with Brian Gallyot

Brian Gallyot photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

I met up with Bryan at his beautiful home in Rancho Mirage. He was warm and inviting and excited to jump around. I went out to scout around the backyard and found several beautiful spots for him to jump. Then we ran around like little kids in the yard trying different spots and jumps. Byan is tall to begin with, so the height, power and creativity of his jumps was amazing! Super fun day!

Get to know a little about Bryan:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Several things, but my final answer would be the feeling. Its connecting with the kid in you. We all remember jumping as kids. No matter where you’re from, or how old you are. It’s nostalgic.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos? How did you feel – before and after?
A:
OMG It was more fun than expected. E was excited which was contagious. I wanted to jump as high as I could for her. I felt a little sluggish before the session, and after I felt invigorated as well as kinda special.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
I would describe it as a feeling of elation. Moments when you are present in the moment, loving life, without a care in the world. Joy impacts my life in many ways. Through family, travel, friends, food. Joy is all around us. Infinite examples of how joy has impacted my life.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
People, hands down. I believe we are here for one reason, our sole purpose is to nurture relationships. Curiosity, compassion, and caring for people comes naturally.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
I feel honored. These are the things that life is about, creating memories, and this is a unique artistic way to do that. I feel flattered.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Hmmm that’s a tough question. I would find a way to help those in serious need globally. I would be the Robin Hood for the planet.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I am a dancer at heart, So my project is never ending.

Connect with Bryan:
Instagram: @bryangallyot
Twitter: @BryanGallyot

Thank you Brayan for welcoming me to your home and sharing your uplifting, sunshiny powerhouse jumps of joy!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)