The jumping joy of Heinz Stoewer in Palm Springs

Heinz Stoewer photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

I had the pleasure of meeting Heinz and his husband Bernd downtown for his jumping photo. They come all the way from Germany every year to spend a month visiting Palm Springs. Heinz is an artist so we scouted around for a location and decided to do them in front of this construction area with the mountains, pink banner and Palm Springs Art Museum in the far background. I think this is an interesting site to capture, it’s a location in the midst of a massive transformation. When Heinz and Bernd return next year, this background will be created into something entirely new, and so will they be when they return to this spot next year.

The jump photos were super fun! Heinz jumped for joy with one of his beautiful paintings to represent his passion for his artwork. We were almost in the middle of the street, so it was Bernds job to keep a look out and yell, “CAR!” whenever a care was coming so we could safely get out of the way and let the car pass by. This added a childhood memory of playing games in the streets as a kid and it was special to recreate this childhood memory with two grown men jumping around and playing in the streets.

Get to know a little more about Heinz:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Curiosity.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
It was a great experience. I had so much fun. I felt so much better afterwards. It made me focus more on the joyful side of life. And I hope it will have a longer lasting impact on my feeling and thinking.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
It makes You feel like flying. Joy has always been a balancing factor for me.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
Painting. Because when I’m painting I feel complete and it is my way of communicating with people I don’t know personally.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
It is an honour and a pleasure.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Make people appreciate each other and not divide them by race, nationality, gender, etc.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I’m painting, right now mostly figurative elements combined with abstracted areas.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
The jump for joy project made me focus more on the positive side and I’m sure many participants share this with me.

Connect with Heinz:
Instagram: @contemppainter
FB page: heinzstoewer
Other links: www.heinzstoewer.de

Thank you Heinz, for your sharing your playful soul and jumping for joy with me!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)