Sharing joy at the Palm Springs Police Department with Officer Stefanie Hutchinson

Stefanie Hutchinson photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

Such a pleasure to meet Stefanie at the Palm Springs Police Station where we did her jump for joy photo. Her energy was friendly and lighthearted which instantly put me at ease. We walked through the police station to the back parking area where the police cars are parked and did her jumps there.

It was super fun doing the photos with Stefanie. I was amazed that she was able to jump so high wearing all her heavy protective gear and make it look easy at the same time. I have to say it’s pretty cool to get to know police officers in such a goofy and fun way. I’ve often felt somewhat intimidated by police officers, so it was refreshing to have this light and playful experience and to remember that behind the uniforms are just people who feel the same as we do.

Get to know a little about Stefanie:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
The wonderful life I’ve been given. Every day is a precious gift.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I was not sure what to expect for this project. I definitely stretched and practiced my high jumps the morning of to make sure I was prepared. When I met Eyoalha and saw her big smile and how excited she was and it made the jump more fun. Her smile was contagious and I had a big smile the whole time too!

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy is pure happiness.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
Being a mother. It gives me an excuse to stay young forever. It is my greatest achievement.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
It feels satisfying knowing that we can connect as a community and be apart of something that brings happiness and joy to so many people.

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
Travel the world.

Q: What are you working on or creating?
A:
I enjoy creating short videos of our family adventures so my kids have something to look back at and see all the fun times we had.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I am 35 years old and was born and raised in the Coachella Valley. I am a mother, a wife, a daughter, a police officer.

Thanks for taking the time to jump and share your joyful energy with us Stefanie!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Subscribe to the Jump for Joy NEWSLETTER

Please... share the joy :)