Sharing jumping joy as an inflatable rooster with Charles Barenbrugge

Charles Barenbrugge photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs CUltural Center Artist Residency

When an group of inflatable chickens and an inflatable rooster walk out of a building… obviously, you invite them to jump for joy! And that is exactly how this photo came to be.

Charles was so sweet, we started out with a group jump with the inflatable chickens, in nearly 100 degree weather… he was concerned about the height of his jump (I was just amazed that they were able to jump at all in the suites and the heat!) and I had the giggles the entire time we did the photos. Then Charles and I did this fun solo rooster jump and we celebrated at the amazing air he got, rooster suite and all. Needless to say, this was a memorable day of sharing jumping joy!

Learn more about Charles here:
Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Everyday is a new experience since I moved to Palm Springs from Chicago, IL on December 20, 2017. I have met several wonderful people through networking, who have taken me under their wings to make sure that my transition here is as great as it can be.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I was concerned that due to my weight and lack of exercise I wasn’t going to be able to get off of the ground and I didn’t want to disappoint the others in the session. After the group jump, I felt a little depressed but after my individual jump, I felt elated and joyful!

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Unfortunately, I lost most of my joy upon the death of my husband, Frank Kiesel, in Chicago on March 30, 2017. We were two months shy of our 22nd anniversary when he died from complications due to not being properly diagnosed as a Diabetes Ketoacidosis patient but instead was treated as a Type 2 Diabetic and given Victoza which actually caused his death. Upon losing him, I felt that I would never experience Joy again. But since moving to the Desert and being able to look at the mountains everyday, I feel a new kind of Joy and I know that Frank is with me and has guided me to my new joyful re-birth of my heart and soul!

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
My greatest passion in life is to help my clients – whether for Real Estate – buying and selling, doing my 3D Tours and Drone Video or my Notary Public signings. I love giving people the type of service that I would love to get. The Golden Rule! It gives me pleasure to serve others and their happiness is my happiness.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a community project that promotes joy?
A:
Giving Joy and happiness to others is extremely important to me. I love to make people laugh with my sense of humor and my joy for life. Being part of this project is exciting and I can’t wait to see how high I jumped!

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
My #1 goal is to establish a group of residences to provide shelter alternatives for the homeless in our community and beyond. During the Depression, my grandparents lived in Glencoe, IL, a North Shore suburb of Chicago (I grew up in Glencoe). There was a railroad siding not far from their home and their home became a “marked house” that men, who would hop the freight trains from Appalachia to head to northern Wisconsin to work the coal mines, would visit to get nourishment and a place to clean up and rest on their journeys. It wasn’t uncommon for my mother to come home from high school and find strangers sitting at the kitchen table having a bowl of stew and homemade bread that my grandmother would feed them. Based on this heritage, that is why I want to establish shelters and provide joy to the less privileged in our society. And I will dedicate them to my grandparents and to Frank, who was also generous in giving his friends shelter if they were going through difficult times. My idea is to call it “FAM-ily Residences” – for Frank, Albert and Minnie!

Q: What ware you working on or creating?
A:
I have been thinking about the FAM-ily Residences project for quite some time, even before moving here, but since answering the previous question, I have placed a call to an Attorney I met through the Palm Springs Chamber to find out how I can go about starting my own non-profit organization to raise monies for it. I don’t want to procrastinate and keep waiting for the perfect time to begin it. Time is swift and flies by whether we want it to or not. Time is of the essence, so to speak. Another thing that I am working on is taking piano lessons so that I can ultimately accompany myself singing.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
Grew up in Glencoe, IL and lived between Glencoe and Chicago’s Gold Coast for over 65 years. Moved to Palm Springs on December 20, 2017 and Love It! Started to new companies, 3DToursPlus.com and Mobiloanotary.com and became a California REALTOR on March 26, 2018. 10 years in Property Casualty Insurance, 10 years in Mortgage Loan Originating and over 29 in Real Estate Sales. As a recent widow, adjusting to life without my husband has been an experience that I wouldn’t wish upon anyone. It feels like a part of me died with him but I know his spirit is with me constantly. So, I may be physically alone but spiritually, I have the greatest gift of all!

Twitter: @charlessellsps
FB page: /charles.barenbrugge.393
FB Business page: /charlessellspalmsprings

Thank you Charles for your kind and generous heart and for sharing your playful spirit and jumping for joy in the form of a rooster, not something we see everyday and it certainly made me smile! 🙂

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)