Sharing joy at the Palm Springs Cultural Center with Eric S. Smith

Eric S. Smith photographed by Eyoalha Baker for Jump for Joy Photo Project and Palm Springs Cultural Center Artist Residency

I met Eric several times at the Palm Springs Cultural Center before he came out to jump. He is always friendly and upbeat. I love how passionate he is about his work and his willingness and excitement to share joy and support the project and all the incredible programs and work done by the Palm Springs Cultural Center. If you are wondering why the sky is white… this is what happens on overcast days. Also, I’ve been very adamant throughout the photo sessions about not having any signs, advertising or logos in my artist residency Jump for Joy Photo Project mural in Palm Springs, however, I did make this one exception as this is the actual location where the mural will be located 🙂


Get to know a bit about Eric:

Q: What inspires you to jump for joy?
A:
Pride inspired me to jump. I’m beyond proud of the work we do here at the Palm Springs Cultural Center. I felt that participating in your amazing project was a great way to show that pride.

Q: How was your experience doing the jumping photos?
A:
I absolutely loved the photo session. I honestly felt nervous before the session and I felt elated after the session.

Q: How do you describe the feeling of joy?
A:
Joy is an exuberance that cannot be hidden.

Q: What is your greatest passion in life?
A:
History and Art are my life long passion. I don’t believe the two can be separated. I’ve always sought answers. There are a million sources for these answers. However History is the only source of answers that give me more questions. Art and History are a never ending journey. They both are a great source of frustration and joy. But I think life requires both frustration and joy for balance.

Q: How do you feel about being part of a collaborative community project that promotes joy?
A:
See answer #! I am exceedingly proud to be a part of this amazing project

Q: If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
A:
I would be the man my wife sees when she looks at me rather than the man I see in the mirror

Q: What are you working on?
A:
I never stop painting.

Q: Mini bio or something special you want to share.
A:
I am an Irish American Navy Vet Punk Rocker with a lust for life.

Thanks for jumping around and sharing your joy Eric!

—-

Thank you to the Palm Springs Cultural Center inviting me to be your first Artist in residence and bringing the Jump for Joy Photo Project to the Coachella Valley.

If you live in the Coachella Valley and would like more info on the project, or would like to take part, email us: jumpforjoy@psculturalcenter.org

—-

Follow Jump for Joy on:
Instagram: @jumpforjoyphotoproject
Twitter: @jumpforjoyphoto
Facebook: /JumpForJoyPhotoProject

Please... share the joy :)